Recently Reading…

Here’s what I’ve been reading recently:

Highland Scandal by Julia London – So good and sweet and warm and lovely and great. Such a surprise. It’s just lovely, not at all the badly written romance a book with the blurb “sinfully sexy” on the cover (along with a barechested man and buxom woman) would have you believe. What a disservice! Just another reason not to judge a book by its cover.

And, actually, sad to say that’s about it. I am usually trying to get through multiple books at a time but, lately, I’ve been happily focused on one, not my usual finger in every pie. Let’s face it, life’s too busy to let that happen all the time.

I did try Midnight in Austenland by Shannon Hale which, sorry to say, I found sorely disappointing. I stopped a little ways in, but will try again later. I really enjoyed Austenland. A lot of people said that the main character was really childish in that one and that she behaved like a teenager in love. So? She wasn’t a stupid teenager in love. It’s like readers resented the lack of sex and heavy petting. Idiots. So, yea to Austenland, so far its follow-up hasn’t fared so well as far as I’m concerned. Maybe I’ll eat my words one day.

I read One Hundred Kisses by Celia Haddon, a collection of love and kissy quotes. Very nice.

Also, Redcoats and Rebels by Christopher Hibbert. Not so lovey-dovey, it’s about the American Revolution from the British side of things. Just reading it now. It’s very entertaining so far.

Leave a Reply

