Books that travel – interesting ways to borrow books

Books are great for socializing and becoming part of communities with common interests. They serve as conversation starters, too, and educate, as well as entertain. People can read alone or aloud to each other, as they have for years. We form books groups and talk about books at work. We read on public transportation. (On one lovely occasion, I observed one man interrupt a woman reading to excitedly say how great the author that book’s author was; books bring strangers together!) Books are ways for neighbors to connect.

But, neighbors aren’t just the people next door or sitting next to you on the train, are they? All 6.8 billion of us in the world are neighbors, right? And, apparently, some booklovers have found a way to use books to explore our exciting world and connecting with people from thousands and thousands of miles away, or perhaps strangers in our own city.  The world is a great big book club! Can you think of a better one?

So, these sites are, by and large, new to me. I can’t endorse them because I don’t know them. But, what a neat idea!!! If you want to investigate on your own, here they are:

Paperback Swap

 http://www.paperbackswap.com/

Swap books with people all over the place.

Book Crossing

http://www.bookcrossing.com/

Watch your book travel the globe and get comments from the people it meets on its journey.

Didn’t I say these were great ideas? Leave it to booklovers to think of the coolest ways to dive into the world have fun.

2 thoughts on “Books that travel – interesting ways to borrow books

  1. Dear anievan,
    I´m one of all the book crossers in this world. I wrote about it in my blog, very recently. I love doing it, and I hope that you will love it too. I agree in every word you wrote hear, about how people connect by books. It is a great idea. I wish you a great year, with a lot of reading and many new friends, both on the internet and in real life.

    Maggie

    • Dear Magdalena,

      Thank you so much for the lovely message and, of course, for reading my blog post! Nice to hear from another booklover. I hope you have all the same wonderful things in 2012. Happy New Year!

      Best,
      Anieva

Leave a Reply

