Who’s Little Maude?

Don’t you just wonder that kind of thing when you see inscriptions in old books? I’ve really gotten into inscriptions lately, as evidenced here and here and, a particularly sweet example, here.

Here’s a new one that I found in a local shop. If I were Sherlock Holmes maybe I could find a clue to answer my question. All I have now is what you see below, and it makes me envision a governess/nanny giving a present to her little charge on the New Year of 1907: a nice young woman, fond of the girl she watches over, bending down to hand these tiny books to her little chubbiness, and Maude not being totally aware of the lovely moment because she’s two years old and not really socially with it yet.

See what dreams an inscription can inspire?

Leave a Reply

