Mariana by Susanna Kearsley

I just finished Mariana by Susanna Kearsley. It’s got the genetic memory/reincarnation element that The Winter Sea has, but this is an earlier book of hers. It’s – as corny as I’m making this sound – like a love song to romance and eternal love. And, I like that kind of thing.

I like this book, too. Why is there always, in these time travel books, a poetry-loving handsome solid salt-of-the-earth Scotsman? I liked that, too. I liked the serendipity and the pondering on the “more things on Heaven and Earth than are dreamt of in our philosophy” idea. Whether or not you believe in reincarnation, it’s a fun idea in fiction.

I’ve lately been reading books like Kearsley’s and Anya Seton’s Green Darkness and even Diana Gabaldon that deal with twists in time and lives lived.  So far, so good, and quite entertaining and intriguing. Enough so, in fact, that I took a stroll on this beautiful Fall day to get Shirley Maclaine’s Out on a Limb from the library.  I am not a believer in reincarnation and, frankly, it sounds like an exhausting prospect to have to live again and again. But, I’ve got to admit, whether it’s fiction or personal beliefs or pop-philosophy ideas or more serious philosophical thinking, it’s a great example of how humans try to make sense and find meaning in life. And, how we come up with some wonderful stories and sentiments as a result.

So, a recommendation for Susanna Kearsley’s Mariana and we’ll see how far I get with Maclaine’s book. It’ll be interesting to read the memoir as a backdrop to fictional pieces.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

