Serendipity in a thrift store

Truly, I think thrift stores are probably often scenes of serendipitous moments for lots of people. I was on the very lovely and very fun site of the author of The Secret History of the Pink Carnation, Lauren Willig, and found a recommended reading list for people who love Diana Gabaldon, Outlander author. Here’s a link to the list.

The short of it is that I wrote all the titles that interested me down and went to the store and didn’t find any of them. Then, a few days later, I went into a thrift store and, in a kind of cursory way, surveyed everything there with a quick walk-around. There were a bunch of books on a clothing rack, most lying flat but one standing up. It struck me because it was one of those pretty pink and purple romance covers which, face it, can be very appealing to some people (like me, I guess). Then, hazily the title began to be familiar and the author, too. Very strangely, without trying really, I had come upon a lovely hardback edition of Through a Glass Darkly by Karen Koen which I bought for less than the cost of a hot chocolate at Starbucks. Yay!

I wonder if the reading of the book will live up to its discovery.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

